IPL 2022: Full list of retained players and purse remaining for 8 teams ahead of the mega auction

All eight Indian Premier League (IPL) franchises announced the list of players retained and released by them ahead of the IPL auctions on Friday. There were quite a few surprises and a few obvious choices as the eight franchises confirmed the names of retained and released players for the 16th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022. November 30 was the last date for the teams to submit the list of the retained players before the mega auctions.

There were a few surprises but most picks were on the expected lines as all 8 teams announced their retentions. MS Dhoni was not Chennai Super Kings’s first pick while Punjab Kings did not retain KL Rahul. Royal Challengers Bangalore retained Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell and Mohammed Siraj. Meanwhile, SunRisers Hyderabad went for Kane Williamson but did not retain either David Warner or Rashid Khan.

IPL 2022 Retention: Quick Recap

Each of the eight franchises used the Player Retention option with Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Delhi Capitals (DC), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Mumbai Indians (MI) opting to retain 4 players each.

Rajasthan Royals (RR), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have retained 3 players each while Punjab Kings (PBKS) have retained 2.

The PBKS thus have the highest salary purse available with INR 72 crore while Delhi Capitals have least at INR 47.50 to be used at the mega auction.

Of the 27 retained players, 8 are overseas and 4 are uncapped Indians.

IPL 2022 Retention: Highlights

BCCI has already confirmed the inclusion of the two new teams. CVC Capitals-owned Ahmedabad and RPSG Group-owned Lucknow are the two new inductees of the IPL. IPL 2022 will be preceded by a mega auction and there are going to be two new teams — one each from Lucknow and Ahmedabad — making the new season a 10-team affair.

Retaining players cost the franchises a hefty amount as if a team which used all 4 options of retention then the total purse available for the 4 players was Rs 42 Crores. The first chosen player got Rs 16 Crores, the 2nd fetched Rs 12 Crores, the 3rd got a sum of Rs 8 Crores, and the 4th received Rs6 Crores for their services.

Mumbai Indians

  1. Rohit Sharma – Rs 16 crore
  2. Jasprit Bumrah – Rs 12 crore
  3. Suryakumar Yadav – Rs 8 crore
  4. Kieron Pollard – Rs 6 crore

Delhi Capitals

  1. Rishabh Pant – Rs 16 crore

  2. Axar Patel – Rs 9 crore

  3. Prithvi Shaw – Rs 7.5 crore
  4. Anrich Nortje – Rs 6.5 crore

Kolkata Knight Riders

  1. Andre Russell – Rs 12 crore
  2. Varun Chakravarthy – Rs 8 crore
  3. Venkatesh Iyer – Rs 8 crore
  4. Sunil Narine – Rs 6 crore

Chennai Super Kings

  1. Ravindra Jadeja – Rs 16 crore
  2. MS Dhoni – Rs 12 crore
  3. Moeen Ali – Rs 8 crore
  4. Ruturaj Gaikwad – Rs 6 crore

Rajasthan Royals

  1. Sanju Samson – Rs 14 crore
  2. Jos Buttler – Rs 10 crore
  3. Yashasvi Jaiswal. Rs 4 crore

Royal Challengers Bangalore

  1. Virat Kohli – Rs 15 crore
  2. Glenn Maxwell – Rs 11 crore
  3. Mohammed Siraj – Rs 7 crore

SunRisers Hyderabad

  1. Kane Williamson – Rs 14 crore
  2. Abdul Samad – Rs 4 crore
  3. Umran Malik – Rs 4 crore

Punjab Kings

  1. Mayank Agarwal Rs 12 crore
  2. Arshdeep Singh – Rs 4 crore

Purse left for 8 IPL franchises after retentions on November 30

  1. Punjab Kings – Rs 72 crore
  2. SunRisers Hyderabad – Rs 68 crore
  3. Rajasthan Royals – Rs 62 crore
  4. Royal Challengers Bangalore – Rs 57 crore
  5. Chennai Super Kings – Rs 48 crore
  6. Kolkata Knight Riders – Rs 48 crore
  7. Mumbai Indians – Rs 48 crore
  8. Delhi Capitals – Rs 47.5 crore

Source – India Today